The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: A Sense for Murder, Leslie Karst

A Sense for Murder

Leslie Karst

Chef Sally Solari has - to her own bewilderment - built a reputation as a talented sleuth who keeps tripping over dead bodies. But getting mixed up in the curious case of a cookbook killer threatens to be the final chapter in not just her investigating career . . . but her life.


It's the height of the tourist season in Santa Cruz, California, and Sally Solari has her hands full, both juggling crowds of hungry diners at her French-Polynesian restaurant Gauguin, as well as appeasing her father, who's distressed at the number of homeless people camped out in front of Solari's, the family's Italian seafood restaurant out on the historic fisherman's wharf.

Nevertheless, when Sally gets the opportunity to volunteer at a farm-to-table dinner taking place at the hip new restaurant and culinary bookshop Pages and Plums, she seizes the chance. Not only is it a fundraiser for an organization aiding the homeless and seniors, but up for auction at the event is a signed boxset of Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Sally's hero, the renowned chef Julia Child.

But then the Pages and Plums dining room manager turns up dead - the locked cabinet containing the precious books now empty - and the irrepressible Sally once again finds herself up to her neck in a criminal investigation. She may have a sense for murder, but can Sally outwit a devious killer with a taste for French cooking before the villain makes mincemeat of her, too?

A Sense for Murder is a fast-paced, super fun culinary cozy mystery that will have your brain working and your mouth watering. And if you haven't met sleuthing chef Sally yet, it's safe to jump right in.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Severn House
  • Publish Date: Aug 1st, 2023
  • Pages: 224
  • Language: English
  • Edition: Main -
  • Dimensions: 8.60in - 5.40in - 1.00in - 0.45lb
  • EAN: 9781448309054
  • Categories: Mystery & Detective - Cozy - CulinaryMystery & Detective - Women Sleuths

About the Author

Karst, Leslie: - "

The daughter of a law professor and a potter, Leslie Karst waited tables and sang in a new wave rock and roll band, before deciding she was ready for 'real' job and ending up at Stanford Law. It was during her career as a research and appellate attorney in Santa Cruz County that she discovered a passion for food and cooking, and she once more returned to school - this time to earn a degree in culinary arts.

Now retired from the law, she spends her time cooking, singing alto in her local community chorus, gardening, cycling, and of course writing. Leslie and her wife and their Jack Russell mix split their time between Santa Cruz and Hilo, Hawaii.

"

Praise for this book

This well-done culinary cozy should win new fans for the ever enterprising Sally-- "Publishers Weekly on The Fragrance of Death"
Lots of suspects and even more food-- "Kirkus Reviews on The Fragrance of Death"
Foodies and fans of cozy mysteries will both love the latest installment in Karst's series . . . this tale will have readers of Rita Mae Brown and Darci Hannah dining out on a delicious mystery-- "Booklist on Murder from Scratch"
Cover-to-cover fun for culinary cozy fans-- "Publishers Weekly on Murder from Scratch"
A tasty combination of culinary tidbits, an unusual motive for murder, and appended recipes for ambitious cooks-- "Kirkus Reviews on Death al Fresco"
Cozy fans should have fun-- "Publishers Weekly on Death al Fresco"
Engaging characters, terrific writing, and a savory blend of musical and culinary erudition . . . Karst is a dab hand with the red herrings-- "Publishers Weekly Starred Review of A Measure of Murder"
Fans of Joanne Fluke, Edith Maxwell, and Lucy Burdette will savor this food-oriented debut, seasoned with well-done plotting and characters, complete with tasty recipes-- "Library Journal on Dying for a Taste"
An enjoyable read for mystery mavens and foodies alike-- "Kirkus Reviews"
Culinary cozy fans will be in heaven-- "Publishers Weekly"