The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Alfred Tennyson, Alfred Tennyson

Alfred Tennyson

Alfred Tennyson

Tennyson was acclaimed in his own day as the chief poetic voice of his age, and he remains one of the most highly regarded masters of the music and mood of poetry. This Oxford Authors edition selects extensively from Tennyson's entire career, beginning with his striking juvenilia, through his career as Poet Laureate and to the powerful poetry he wrote in his ninth decade. It contains over sixty poems, including such classics as "The Lady of Shalott," "Morte DArthur," "Break Break Break," "Locksley Hall," "Ulysses," "The Charge of the Light Brigade," and "Tears, Idle Tears." It also includes in its entirety Tennyson's quasi-feminist epic The Princess, as well as the whole of In Memoriam, Maud, Enoch Arden, and several of the Idylls of the King.

The poems are augmented with a broad selection from Tennyson's letters, as well as relevant passages from his son Hallam Tennyson's Memoir of his father, where Tennyson talks widely about his own poetry and the writing of others. The edition as a whole provides the most comprehensive one-volume representation of Tennyson's particular genius.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
  • Publish Date: Jan 1st, 1901
  • Pages: 688
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.10in - 0.10in - 0.10in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780192100160
  • Categories: English, Irish, Scottish, WelshPoetry

About the Author

Adam Roberts is Lecturer in English at Royal Holloway, University of London, and is the editor of The Oxford Authors Robert Browning with Daniel Karlin.