The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Arsenic at Ascot, Kelly Oliver

Arsenic at Ascot

Kelly Oliver

Saddle up for this first class historical mystery, perfect for fans of Helena Dixon and Verity Bright.

London, 1918

Fiona Figg finds herself back in Old Blighty saddled with shuffling papers for the war office. Then a mysterious card arrives, inviting her to a fancy house party at Mentmore Castle. This year's Ascot-themed do will play host to a stable of animal defense advocates, and Fiona is tasked with infiltrating the activists and uncovering possible anti-war activity.

Disguised as the Lady Tabitha Kenworthy, Fiona is more than ready for the "mane" event, but the odds are against her when both her arch nemesis, dark-horse Fredrick Fredricks, and would-be fiancé Lieutenant Archie Somersby arrive unexpectedly and "stirrup" her plans. And when a horse doctor thuds to the floor in the next guest room, Fiona finds herself investigating a mysterious poisoning with some very hairy clues.

Can Fiona overcome the hurdles and solve both cases, or will she be pipped to the post and put out to pasture by the killer?

What readers are saying about Kelly Oliver:

'A fun, mix of whodunnit and thriller!' T. A. Williams

'Fast-paced, tongue-in-cheek spy romp. Enjoy the ride!' Frances Evesham

"Will keep you turning the pages and laughing all the way!" Dianne Freeman

'The perfect wartime spy; Fiona Figg is smart, sneaky, and full of surprises... A fun whodunit that will keep you turning the pages!" Cathi Stoler, author of The Murder On The Rocks Mysteries.

"A cross between an Agatha Christie and a Sherlock Holmes sleuthing story. Just brilliant!" NetGalley Reviewer

"Covert in Cairo is simply delightful. Kelly Oliver's immersive prose brings World War I era Egypt to life. Fiona Figg - with her tools, wigs, and disguises - is a sleuth you can't help but root for." S.K. Golden, author of the Pinnacle Hotel Mystery series.

"This historical mystery delivers twists and turns. I can't wait for the next one!" Muddy Rose Reviews

"I love Fiona Figg!" Margaret Mizushima

"Couldn't put it down." Amazon Reviewer"A perfect blend of wit, fun, and intrigue." Debra Goldstein

"I am hooked on these amazing characters." Amazon Reviewer

"A fun diversion with an entertaining female lead."Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Susan Elia MacNeal will gobble up this series! Highly recommend." L.A. Chandlar

"Diabolical plot twists, interesting red herrings, colorful characters, make this a good whodunit." NetGalley Reviewer

Book Details

  • Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
  • Publish Date: Nov 28th, 2023
  • Pages: 242
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 9.00in - 6.00in - 0.75in - 1.02lb
  • EAN: 9781804831885
  • Categories: Historical - 20th Century - GeneralMystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Praise for this book