The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Danilo Was Here, Tamika Burgess

Danilo Was Here

Tamika Burgess

From the acclaimed author of Sincerely Sicily, Tamika Burgess, comes a timely coming-of-age story about a young boy's fight to save his family and his dreams in the aftermath of the US military invasion of Panamá. Perfect for fans of Janae Marks, Adrianna Cuevas, and Chrystal D. Giles!

Danilo Osorio Jr.'s baseball skills were once the pride of his father and entire hometown of El Chorrillo, Panamá. But that was then, and this is now...

Following 1989's Operation Just Cause, a US military invasion that left his neighborhood decimated, Danilo couldn't care less about baseball or the father who abandoned him for opportunities in the States. Now Danilo's focus is taking care of his mamá and sister and trying to save them all from needing to relocate to a refugee camp.

When Danilo unintentionally catches the eye of a baseball recruiter and is offered the opportunity to visit and train in California--the same place as his father's last known address--he is tasked with deciding to go or stay. But if playing baseball could help him find his father and secure the extra funds his family needs, Danilo is willing to travel anywhere, even to the very country responsible for destroying his home.

Between his tough-as-nails baseball coach, ultracompetitive teammates, and overly enthusiastic host family, Danilo's plans encounter some curveballs. And when his turn to bat finally comes, he'll have to decide what and who he's actually fighting for.

Book Details

  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: Jan 21st, 2025
  • Pages: 304
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780063159662
  • Recommended age: 08-12
  • Categories: Family - MultigenerationalSocial Themes - New ExperienceSocial Themes - Prejudice & Racism

About the Author

Burgess, Tamika: -

Tamika Burgess is a storyteller with over a decade of novel, TV/film, and personal essay writing experience. Born to parents who migrated from Panamá, Tamika has always taken a particular interest in writing themes that explore her Black Latina identity. Because of her passion for spreading the knowledge of Black Panamanian culture, Tamika has been featured on various websites, podcasts, and panels. When she is not writing, Tamika is somewhere cozy online shopping and listening to a podcast. Tamika resides in sunny Southern California.

Reading Lists – Children's Books