The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Dead Heat, Jessie Keane

Dead Heat

Jessie Keane

The gripping new gangland thriller from the Sunday Times bestseller and Queen of the Underworld, Jessie Keane. 'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole' My Weekly

Once, he loved her.
Now he's going to put her away for murder.

Christie Doyle is living the dream: she has a beautiful mansion on the South Downs with an infinity pool and stables, and her husband, Kenny, spoils her rotten. It's her birthday and she is the centre of the most amazing party.

And then the bombshell drops. Kenny confesses to an affair and asks for a divorce. Worse is to come when the 'other woman'- Lara, nineteen years old and pregnant with Kenny's child - is found dead.

Suspicion falls on Christie and the Doyles' life is ripped apart as the police hunt for evidence: lead investigator DCI Dexter Cooper is a face from Christie's own troubled past and he knows better than anyone what she is capable of.

The race to unmask a killer is on...

*** PRE-ORDER THE BRILLIANT NEW JESSIE KEANE THRILLER - GANGLAND - NOW!***

Book Details

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Publish Date: Jan 21st, 2025
  • Pages: 320
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.80in - 5.08in - 0.80in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9781399720984
  • Categories: CrimeThrillers - CrimeThrillers - Suspense

About the Author

Dubbed 'Queen of the Underworld', Jessie Keane is of Romany gypsy stock. She was born rich, in the back of her gran's barrel top wagon, and her family thrived until their firm crashed into bankruptcy and became poor. Her father died when she was a teenager and she fled to London to escape grim reality, finding there a lifelong fascination with the criminal underworld and the teeming life of the city.

Twice divorced and living in a freezing council flat, she decided to pursue her childhood aim to become a writer. She sold her wedding dress to buy a typewriter and penned her first Annie Carter book, Dirty Game.

This was followed by five more Annie Carter books, all Sunday Times bestsellers, then Ruby Darke arrived in Nameless, Lawless and The Edge. Jessie's stand-alone novels include Jail Bird, The Make, Dangerous, Fearless, The Knock and The Manor.