The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Double Reverse, Fred Bowen

Double Reverse

Fred Bowen

Calling all football fans! An action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen - perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

"This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they're too small or too female.... An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words." ―Kirkus Reviews

Do you have to be the "perfect" type to be a great football player?

Jesse is experienced as a wide receiver―but can he play against type and help his new football team as a quarterback?

The Franklin High Panthers need a new quarterback. Freshman Jesse Wagner knows the plays, but he feels he is too small to be QB material. Jesse's brother Jay has a problem of his own: his college coach wants him to switch from quarterback to safety. The brothers agree on a deal: Jesse will try out for quarterback, and Jay will try playing safety. Meanwhile, Jesse and his teammates recruit an unlikely kicker for their team―a girl named Savannah who is a goalie from the girls' soccer team.

In the afterword, Bowen provides real stories of successful professional athletes, like Pro Football Hall of Famer Fran Tarkenton, who did not "look the part."

Discussion Guide available.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Peachtree Publishing Company
  • Publish Date: Aug 1st, 2014
  • Pages: 144
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.92in - 5.37in - 0.60in - 0.59lb
  • EAN: 9781561458141
  • Recommended age: 07-12
  • Categories: Sports & Recreation - FootballSocial Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-RelianceFamily - Siblings

About the Author

Bowen, Fred: - Fred Bowen is the author of Peachtree's popular Fred Bowen Sports Story series. A lifelong sports fanatic, he has coached youth league baseball, basketball, and soccer. His kids' sports column "The Score" appears each week in the KidsPost section of the Washington Post. Bowen lives in Maryland.

Praise for this book

"This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they're too small or too female.... An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words." ―Kirkus Reviews
"Filled with descriptions of the games, practices, and plays, the quick plot and likable characters will appeal to football fans.... [A] solid choice for struggling readers." ―Booklist Online