The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Ex Marks the Spot, Gloria Chao

Ex Marks the Spot

Gloria Chao

A swoony rivals-to-lovers romance . . .
Family secrets that can't stay buried . . .
A globe-spanning treasure hunt with puzzles to solve . . .

This latest YA novel by acclaimed writer Gloria Chao takes readers on a soaring adventure through love, loss, and the lively streets of Taiwan.

For Gemma's whole life, it has always been her and her mom against the world. As far as she knew, all her grandparents--and thus her ties to Taiwanese culture--were dead. Until one day when a mysterious man shows up at her door with two shocking things: the news that her grandfather has just recently passed, and the first clue to a treasure hunt that Gemma hopes will lead to her inheritance.

There's just one major problem: to complete the hunt, she has to go to her grandfather's home in Taiwan. And the only way she can get there is by asking her ex and biggest high-school rival, Xander, for help. But after swallowing her pride, Gemma finds herself halfway across the world, ready to unearth her life-changing prize. Soon Gemma discovers that the treasure hunt is about much more than money--it's about finally learning about her family, her cultural roots, and maybe even finding true love.

Filled with ingenious puzzles, a vibrant Taipei setting, and a delicious romance, Ex Marks the Spot is an exciting adventure by award-winning writer Gloria Chao, perfect for fans of Loveboat Taipei, The Inheritance Games, and Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: Jan 21st, 2025
  • Pages: 336
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.25in - 5.50in - 0.84in - 0.78lb
  • EAN: 9780593692714
  • Recommended age: 12-UP
  • Categories: Romance - ContemporaryPlaces - AsiaFamily - Multigenerational

About the Author

Gloria Chao is the critically acclaimed author of American Panda, Our Wayward Fate, Rent a Boyfriend, and When You Wish Upon a Lantern. After a brief detour as a dentist, she is now grateful to spend her days in fictional characters' heads instead of real people's mouths. When she's not writing, you can find her on the curling ice, where she and her husband are world-ranked in mixed doubles. Visit her tea-and-book-filled world at GloriaChao.wordpress.com, and find her on social media @GloriaCChao.

Praise for this book

"Smart and utterly swoon-worthy, Ex Marks the Spot has Gloria Chao's signature humor and so much heart. Whether you're looking for the perfect rivals-to-lovers rom-com, a love letter to diaspora communities, or a thrilling, beautifully written adventure around Taiwan, it's impossible not to fall in love with this book."
--Ann Liang, New York Times bestselling author of I Hope This Doesn't Find You

"Gloria Chao does it again with an adorable and endearing YA romcom! A sweet love story that highlights culture, family, acceptance, and allowing people to be their true selves. A beautiful (and delicious) exploration of Taiwan from an honest and thoughtful diaspora lens. Fun, humorous and delightful!"
--Kat Cho, New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a K-Prom