The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Family Prayer Bible, Elmer Towns

Family Prayer Bible

Elmer Towns

The Bible was written to illuminate your mind with truth from God. I have written The Family Prayer Bible into stories from the Bible for the whole family to read together; but on some occasions you may choose to read it by yourself.

The Family Prayer Bible begins with 12 stories from the Old Testament to give you a background of the life and ministry of Jesus Christ. Then there is a transition from the Old Testament to the New Testament. There you will read stories about events before Jesus was born. Next you will trace the life of Jesus from His birth . . . to His death . . . to the resurrection.

The life of Jesus is told in four books, called the four Gospels: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. In The Family Prayer Bible we follow Jesus' life chronologically, from birth to resurrection choosing the story in the gospel that best tells about Jesus.

Then our story line will follow the establishment of the church in the Book of Acts. We will follow the triumphant growth of the church that fulfills Jesus' last command, i.e., the Great Commission. "Go into all the world and preach the Good News to everyone" (Mark 16:15). Then we will survey the letters (called Epistles or Books) written by the Apostle Paul and others. We end up where the New Testament ends, showing pictures of heaven and where we will spend eternity with God.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Heritage Builders
  • Publish Date: May 3rd, 2016
  • Pages: 400
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 9.30in - 6.50in - 1.80in - 3.80lb
  • EAN: 9781942603641
  • Categories: General

About the Author

Dr. Elmer Towns is the co-founder of Liberty University, the largest private nonprofit university in the world. Towns is also a prominent Christian leader, author, and speaker on the principles of church growth, church leadership, Christian education, Sunday school, and prayer and fasting. He has authored over 170 books, eight of which are listed on the Christian Booksellers Bestselling List.

In 1995 he received the Gold Medallion Award from the Evangelical Christian Booksellers Association for Book of the Year in Biblical Study, The Names of the Holy Spirit. Most recently Dr. Towns served as the dean of the B. R. Lakin School of Religion, dean of the Liberty University Baptist Theological Seminary, and Distinguished Professor of Systematic Theology at Liberty University. In the fall of 2013, Towns announced he would be taking a sabbatical from his teaching and administration duties to focus on speaking and writing. He lives in Lynchburg, VA.

Praise for this book