The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Gabriel's Triumph, Alison Hart

Gabriel's Triumph

Alison Hart

Recently freed from slavery, Gabriel is burning up the horse track as jockey and stacking up wins for his former master.

When Mister Giles asks him to ride Aristo, a powerful but unpredictable horse, in the prestigious Saratoga Chase, Gabriel jumps at the chance to compete against some of the greatest jockeys in the business. But as he begins the journey to Saratoga, he finds that high-stakes horse racing can be a nasty business as he works to keep Aristo safe and fend off horse poachers and jealous jockeys.

Gabriel also learns the difficult lesson that being freed is not the same as being free. More than ever, Gabriel misses his father, who is fighting with the Union Army. Who else can he trust?

In the second book of the Racing to Freedom trilogy, Alison Hart continues to explore the complex relationships of the Civil War. The result is a gripping story that vividly brings to life the danger and drama of a time when war and issues of race and freedom divided the country. Background historical material and photos are included.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Peachtree Publishers
  • Publish Date: Jul 6th, 2010
  • Pages: 160
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.20in - 5.40in - 0.80in - 0.39lb
  • EAN: 9781561455478
  • Recommended age: 08-12
  • Categories: Animals - HorsesPeople & Places - United States - African American & BlackHistorical - United States - 19th Century

About the Author

Hart, Alison: - Alison Hart is the author of more than sixty books for young readers. Hart was a teacher at Blue Ridge Community College and lives in Virginia.

Praise for this book

Thrilling horse racing once again frames a stirring Civil War story in the second title in the Racing to Freedom series.--Booklist

There is enough excitement and suspense along the way to keep readers interested. The narrative is well written and the major characters have depth and realism.. . . This follow up to Gabriel's Horses (Peachtree 2007) is part of a planned trilogy but stands on its own.--School Library Journal