The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Gravenwood, Margie Benedict


Margie Benedict

"Grounded, likable characters with complex emotions anchor this excellent series installment." -Kirkus Reviews

Tessa (the shapeshifter), Ash (the swordsman), and Calder (the trickster) reunite for a potentially deadly new adventure in Book Two of the award-winning Thieves of Magic series that began with Dreadmarrow and ends with Kingshackle.

"Full-bodied, engrossing, and hard to put down." -Midwest Book Review

Desperate to cure her mother of the delusion that she's a bird, Tessa appeals to the conjurer lord in neighboring Blackgrove. Everything goes wrong, however, when he takes Calder hostage and refuses to help until Tessa and Ash bring him the Gravenwood. They set out to steal this magical tablet while romance blossoms between them.

"(Benedict) plots shrewdly, nesting quests within quests and mysteries within mysteries, keeping the story exciting while still finding time to lay bare the hearts of her heroes. She's especially good at setting up puzzles whose solutions, once sprung on the readers, prove delightful." -The BookLife Prize

But none of them may survive the treachery of the rising despot - unless Tessa can conquer her inner doubts and unlock the secret to becoming a true conjurer.

"A strongly-plotted fantasy adventure packed full of charismatic characters. A finalist and highly recommended to young adults." -The Wishing Shelf Book Awards

Book Details

  • Publisher: Marjory Kaptanoglu
  • Publish Date: Jun 3rd, 2024
  • Pages: 264
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.50in - 5.50in - 0.60in - 0.75lb
  • EAN: 9781954584365
  • Recommended age: 13-18
  • Categories: Fantasy - Wizards & Witches