The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Her Father's Secret: An utterly gripping and addictive crime thriller, Kate Wiley

Her Father's Secret: An utterly gripping and addictive crime thriller

Kate Wiley

The sun is beginning to set as Margot watches the dive team haul the girl's body from the lake, untangling the bag that had been used to weigh it down among the rocks and the reeds. But it isn't the cool evening air that chills Margot to the bone as the bag is opened up. It is the glimpse of its contents. The old toys. Margot's toys.


Detective Margot Phalen has spent years running from her father's shadow - and the awful truth of her own past as the daughter of a serial killer. But then she receives a message from him. He's willing to share his darkest secret - but only with her.


Now, as she sits across from the empty chair waiting for Ed Finch to be led in, Margot closes her eyes and steels herself for what lies ahead. The key to solving one of California's most infamous missing persons cases is here, in the one place she fears most: her father's cell.


But she knows that the deeper she delves into her father's twisted mind the greater the risk he'll get under her skin. And retracing the missing girl's last steps will mean questioning everything she thought she knew about herself and her family's dark history...


Packed with pulse-pounding suspense and shocking twists, this gripping thriller will keep you riveted until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.


What readers say about the Detective Margot Phalen series:


"Utterly addictive and should come with a warning - once you pick it up, you will not be able to put it down until the final page." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"Omg! Literally couldn't put this book down! I was hooked, I need the next one to be released yesterday!" Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"Wow, what a page turner!" Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"Oh my goodness, what an incredible story. I felt like I was reading an episode of Criminal Minds... From the first page, I was hooked and I did not want it to end." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"This book sucks you in hardcore. I finished it in 24hrs... literally had me in a choke hold!! I could not put it down...." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"Five star rating!!! Fast moving and exciting. I can't wait until the next in the series!" Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"I was hooked! I never wanted to put this book down! Trust me - if I didn't have to act as a functioning human, I would've devoured this book even quicker." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"I cannot wait to find out when the next book is due to be released because I need it now!" Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"Amazing book! I didn't want to put it down! Five stars from me.: )" Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"This book was wild!" Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"A dark psychological thriller... I highly recommend this book to those who love fast-paced, action-packed novels. I cannot wait to read more in this series." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


"An awesome crime thriller. The story was a grabber for sure. It had me from the first chapter... The storyline is dark and twisted, while the characters are real and raw." Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Book Details

  • Publisher: Storm Publishing Ltd
  • Publish Date: Jun 26th, 2024
  • Pages: 312
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.81in - 5.06in - 0.78in - 0.61lb
  • EAN: 9781805084440
  • Categories: Thrillers - CrimeThrillers - Suspense

About the Author

Wiley, Kate: - Kate Wiley has published in multiple genres: cozy mystery as Gretchen Rue; and urban fantasy and romance as Sierra Dean. Ever since picking up her first Nancy Drew book as a child, she's been obsessed with mysteries.Kate lives in a small prairie town in Canada with a menagerie of pets. When not listening to true crime podcasts or writing her next thriller, she enjoys reading, crosswords, and travelling.