The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: I Have Questions, H. Dale Allen

I Have Questions

H. Dale Allen

This book is a journey through spirituality and religion, exploring traditional beliefs while also presenting alternative perspectives. It includes discussions on God, religion, the Bible, angels and demons, heaven and hell, and the stages of my spiritual growth. The book incorporates poems and personal narratives to provide thought-provoking insights into each topic. Its aim is to challenge readers to consider their beliefs critically and with an open mind. It's for anyone who is looking to expand their understanding of spirituality and is open to questioning long-held beliefs.

Join me on a deeply personal and transformative journey in "I Have Questions," where I navigate the complex intersection of being a gay Christian. For much of my life, I concealed my secret, but now, at 72 years old, I long to turn back time and reassure my younger self that being gay is not a sin and that there are diverse paths to connect with God beyond my religious upbringing. In this introspective odyssey, I introduce a path of my own creation called Vastism, which challenges the notion that religion is necessary. Vastism embraces the idea that all paths lead to God, transcending the existence of Heaven and Hell. Instead, we merge with Vastness, my term for God, without judgment or reward, as our purpose in life is to allow Vastness to experience the unique shards of divinity within us. Together, we serve the Divine, redefining our relationship with the transcendent.

The book is organized into units, with each unit exploring a different set of topics. Unit 1 begins with an introduction and a reflection on the limitations of human understanding. Unit 2 explores the concept of God and various religious beliefs, including the idea that all religions are valid. Unit 3 delves into the concept of angels, demons, heaven, and hell. Unit 4 examines the idea that humans are expressions of God, the nature of good and evil, and the concept of sin. Unit 5 provides an examination of the stories from the Bible, including the story of Moses, the creation story, and Noah's flood. Unit 6 examines various end-of-the-world scenarios, including the idea of a rapture and the Book of Revelation. Unit 7 covers the stages of my spiritual growth, including salvation, baptism, unconditional security, and universalism. Unit 8 discusses sexual orientation and how a God of love reacts. Unit 9 explores reincarnation and topics about trauma. Unit 10 deals with the supernatural.

So if you're curious about my spiritual journey and the questions I've been asking, I invite you to join me on this journey. Let's explore together what it means to have faith and spirituality in our lives, without fear of judgment or criticism.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Independently Published
  • Publish Date: Jun 15th, 2023
  • Pages: 460
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 11.00in - 8.50in - 0.93in - 2.33lb
  • EAN: 9798398393286
  • Categories: LGBTQ+
Praise for this book