The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Iggy Who Breathes Fire, Carrie Kruck

Iggy Who Breathes Fire

Carrie Kruck

Meet Iggy, a fiery new hero who knows exactly what she's about--no matter what others think.

This hilarious picture book celebrates self-awareness and is perfect for fans of IMOGENE'S ANTLERS and THE PAPER BAG PRINCESS.

Iggy was born to set the world on fire--literally. Her parents aren't so sure. They bring in the experts--a professor, fire chief, librarian, and doctor--who suggest everything from eating ice cream to sitting in a cold room, but none can help her tame her fire.

Hilarious and heartwarming (get it?) in equal measure, IGGY WHO BREATHES FIRE celebrates that kids are the true experts when it comes to their own identity, and it's up to them to decide when and how to share themselves with the world.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Disney Hyperion
  • Publish Date: Oct 8th, 2024
  • Pages: 40
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9781368094979
  • Recommended age: 03-05
  • Categories: Social Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-RelianceHumorous StoriesFamily - Parents

About the Author

Carrie Kruck was born and raised in Canada, studied and worked as a psychologist in Australia, and now lives in a cozy house at the edge of the woods in New England. Her home is filled with laughter and love and a lot of Lego, and has a room with built-in bookshelves that she calls "the library," so she has pretty much everything she needs! Learn more at CarrieKruck.com.

Erika Meza is the author-illustrator of To the Other Side, which was called "gorgeously rendered" by Kirkus in a starred review. She has illustrated many other books for young readers, including My Two Border Towns (written by David Bowles) and Balloons for Papa (written by Elizabeth Gildert Bedia). She grew up in Mexico, studied illustration in France, and now resides in the United Kingdom, with her blue cat. Learn more at ErikaMeza.com.

Praise for this book