The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Metal from Heaven, August Clarke

Metal from Heaven

August Clarke

For fans of Arcane: League of Legends and Our Flag Means Death a lesbian revenge tale and political fantasy in a world transformed by industrialization - and simmering class warfare.

He who controls ichorite controls the world.

A malleable metal more durable than steel, ichorite is a toxic natural resource fueling national growth, and ambitious industrialist Yann Chauncey helms production of this miraculous ore. Working his foundry is an underclass of destitute workers, struggling to get better wages and proper medical treatment for those exposed to ichorite's debilitating effects since birth.

One of those luster-touched victims, the child worker Marney Honeycutt, is picketing with her family and best friend when a bloody tragedy unfolds. Chauncey's strikebreakers open fire.

Only Marney survives.

A decade later, as Yann Chauncey searches for a suitable political marriage for his ward, Marney sees the perfect opportunity for revenge. With the help of radical bandits and their stolen wealth, she must masquerade as an aristocrat to win over the calculating Gossamer Chauncey and kill the man who slaughtered her family and friends. But she is not the only suitor after Lady Gossamer's hand, leading her to play twisted elitist games of intrigue. And Marney's luster-touched connection to the mysterious resource and its foundry might put her in grave danger - or save her from it.

H. A. Clarke's adult fantasy debut, writing as august clarke, Metal From Heaven is a caustic, dizzying eco-fantasy that addresses labor politics, corporate greed, and the relentless grind of capitalism, while also embodying a visceral lesbian revenge quest against the people and institutions who control and oppress the helpless.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Erewhon Books
  • Publish Date: Oct 22nd, 2024
  • Pages: 528
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 1.25lb
  • EAN: 9781645660989
  • Categories: Fantasy - Action & AdventureFantasy - Dark FantasyLGBTQ+ - Lesbian

About the Author

August Clarke is here and queer, etc. They have been published in PRISM international, Portland Review, and Eidolon. He was a 2019 Lambda Literary Fellow in Young Adult Fiction and a Locus Award, Dragon Award, and Pushcart nominee. They researched queerness, labor, and monstrosity at the University of Chicago. He is the author of the indie-bestselling series The Scapegracers, which he writes as H. A. Clarke.
Praise for this book