The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Miss Dhingra's Vampire, Asha Greyling

Miss Dhingra's Vampire

Asha Greyling

In this gothic debut novel, perfect for fans of Tread of Angels and Gail Carriger's Soulless, Miss Radhika Dhingra, a newly minted lawyer in 19th century New York, never expected that her first client would be a vampire accused of murder.

Having a resident vampire is just the thing for upper-class New Yorkers-besides being a status symbol, they make excellent butlers or housekeepers. The only thing they require in return is a drop or two of blood and a casket to shut out the dawn's early light.

Tolerated by society only if they follow a strict set of rules, vampires are seen as "less than"-and as the daughter of immigrants, Radhika knows firsthand how this feels. Accused of murder, her undead client Mr. Evelyn More, knows that the cards are stacked against him.

With the help of a journalist friend and a diminutive detective inspector, Miss Dhingra sets out to prove her client's innocence and win his freedom. Failure will mean Mr. More's death, the end of her dreams of becoming a successful attorney, and the loss of the vampire Miss Dhingra has begun to call her friend.

Offering an alternative paranormal history, delightful characters, and insightful social commentary, Miss Dhingra's Vampire will thrill readers of Deanna Rayburn and Rebecca Roanhorse.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
  • Publish Date: Aug 20th, 2024
  • Pages: NA
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 1.25lb
  • EAN: 9781639108671
  • Categories: Fantasy - ParanormalHistorical - GeneralLegal

About the Author

Asha Greyling lives in Maryland with her furry four-footed muses, Gwin the terrier and a guinea pig who thinks she's a cat. She likes nothing more than swinging in the playground (unless the local children scare her off), collecting acorns, or sitting down with a good book.
Praise for this book