The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Moonchild: City of the Sun, Aisha Bushby

Moonchild: City of the Sun

Aisha Bushby

The second book in a magical middle grade adventure series, inspired by The Arabian Nights and perfect for readers of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Michelle Harrison and Sophie McKenzie.

The Sahar Peninsula lies just beyond the horizon, but it isn't the easiest place to get to. No maps will take you there, nor can it be charted by gazing up at the stars, or down at a compass...

Farah is a Moonchild with a very special kind of magic and a jinni of her own. But although she loves her magical animal companion - a lizard called Layla - Farah isn't entirely convinced that she's cut out for the life of adventure, which seems to bring endless danger!
When it becomes clear that Farah and her fellow Moonchildren - Leo and Amira - have unlocked moon magic that could destroy the Sahar Peninsula, Farah and her friends are thrust into another accidental adventure. And it takes them to a burning desert and another mysterious city which holds deadly secrets of its own ...

Go on more magical adventures in Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found, the stunning prequel to Moonchild: City of the Sun

Book Details

  • Publisher: Farshore
  • Publish Date: Feb 27th, 2024
  • Pages: 240
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.78in - 5.16in - 0.81in - 0.54lb
  • EAN: 9780755500628
  • Recommended age: 09-12
  • Categories: Fantasy & MagicLegends, Myths, Fables - GeneralHistorical - Middle East

About the Author

Bushby, Aisha: -

Aisha Bushby was born in Bahrain and has lived in Kuwait, England and Canada. Now she mostly lives in the worlds of her children's books. Her debut novel A Pocketful of Stars was longlisted for the Carnegie medal and shortlisted for the Branford Boase. Aisha's books are always full of heart and a sprinkling of magic.

Praise for this book

Praise for A Pocketful of Stars:

'Bushby's debut is poignant and atmospheric' Guardian

'A gorgeous story of friendship and growing up' Cathy Cassidy

'Moving and heartfelt', Anna James, author of Pages and Co

'A wonderful adventure', The Week Junior

Praise for Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found

'Gorgeous, evocative storytelling', Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

'Readers will be enchanted and will finish the book dreaming of adventures under sultry night skies.'
Books for Keeps 06.08.2020 -

'You'll be swept away with Amira on a wonderful adventure.'
The Week Junior 15.08.2020 - Book Club's Book of the Week

'This captivating adventure is full of magic, mystery and danger.'
BookTrust 01.09.2020

'If you like magic, myths and crazy adventures, then this is the book for you! It made me want to write my own stories too!' - Emmy (aged nine) in First News