The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Murder in Mayfair: An utterly addictive historical cozy murder mystery, Verity Bright

Murder in Mayfair: An utterly addictive historical cozy murder mystery

Verity Bright

Tea and cake at The Ritz, a stolen pearl necklace and a missing dead body... Lady Swift is back on the case!


Lady Eleanor Swift has been eagerly awaiting her trip in a hot air balloon to take in London's amazing sights. But what she witnesses instead is a murder! From way up high she sees man in a dark coat shoot another man dead, but by the time she arrives back on the ground, Eleanor can find no trace of the body. Just the broken piece of a pearl necklace clasp, trodden into the dirt.


Back at The Ritz hotel, over afternoon tea, Eleanor's old friend Lady Philomena Chadwick confides in her about a scandalous theft. Lady Chadwick is certain someone on her staff has stolen her priceless pink pearl necklace. Eleanor is immediately suspicious when the description matches the jewellery she spotted at the crime scene.


Much to her butler Clifford's amusement, Eleanor goes undercover as a governess in the Chadwick's sparkling Mayfair mansion. As she sets about questioning the disgruntled staff, she uncovers a treasure trove of gossip. But how do a secret love affair, a flirty footman with a fondness for spying, and a housemaid hiding a nightly visitor connect to the murder?


And when Eleanor's beau, Detective Hugh Seldon, is brought in to investigate a string of further robberies in Park Lane, Eleanor is certain that Chadwick House is hiding the unlikeliest gang of jewel thieves below stairs...


Diamonds are a girl's best friend, but will this necklace get Eleanor killed before she uncovers the hidden gem she needs to crack the case?


Murder in Mayfair is a totally gripping and twisty Golden Age whodunnit set in London, perfect for fans of T.E. Kinsey, Agatha Christie and Catherine Coles!


Readers adore Verity Bright:


'I am hooked! This is the best book that I have read this year... An extremely witty, fast-paced mystery... I love the heroine, intrepid adventuress... A most enjoyable read!' Reviews by Carol in Tallahassee ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book Details

  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publish Date: Jun 27th, 2024
  • Pages: 342
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.81in - 5.06in - 0.76in - 0.74lb
  • EAN: 9781835255698
  • Categories: Mystery & Detective - HistoricalRomance - Historical - 20th Century