The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: New K. J. Parker Novel #1, K. J. Parker

New K. J. Parker Novel #1

K. J. Parker

A new epic fantasy novel from World Fantasy Award winner K. J. Parker, one of the most original voices in the genre.

For more from K. J. Parker, check out:

Saevus Corax Deals With the Dead
Saevus Corax Captures the Castle
Saevus Corax Gets Away with Murder

Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City
How to Rule an Empire and Get Away With It
A Practical Guide to Conquering the World

The Two of Swords
The Two of Swords: Volume One
The Two of Swords Volume Two
The Two of Swords: Volume Three

The Fencer Trilogy
Colours in the Steel
The Belly of the Bow
The Proof House

The Scavenger Trilogy
Shadow
Pattern
Memory

Engineer Trilogy
Devices and Desires
Evil for Evil
The Escapement

The Company
The Folding Knife

Book Details

  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Publish Date: Feb 25th, 2025
  • Pages: 384
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.25in - 5.50in - 0.96in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780316566988
  • Categories: Fantasy - EpicFantasy - Historical

About the Author

K.J. Parker is a pseudonym for Tom Holt. He was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines; interests which led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialized in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. He lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife and daughter.

Praise for this book

"Part political intrigue, part underdog tale, part acerbic commentary on humanity, Parker's dryly funny low fantasy is off to a strong start."--Booklist on Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead
"Readers who like Peter David, A. Lee Martinez, or the Guardians of the Galaxy movies will find this title right up their alley with similar tones, fantastical plots, and over-the-top characters."--Library Journal on Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead
"Parker's acerbic wit and knowledge of human nature are a delight to read as he explores the way conflict is guided, in equal measure, by the brilliance and unerring foolishness of humanity . . . . Thoroughly engaging."--RT Books Reviews on The Two of Swords: Volume One
"This is another splendid offering from K.J. Parker, the (pseudonymous) British fantasist who seems incapable of writing in anything but top form."--Locus on Sharps
"Parker's skillful control of pacing, expert rendering of characters, and subtle sense of humor add depth and believability."--Library Journal on Sharps
"Brilliant."--Locus on The Engineer Trilogy
"Skillful plotting and rich scene-setting."--Guardian on The Company
"A richly textured and emotionally complex fantasy...Highly recommended."--Library Journal on The Engineer Trilogy (starred review)
"Astonishingly good."--RT Book Reviews on Sharps
"Full of invention and ingenuity . . . Great fun."--SFX on Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City
"Well-crafted, powerful and downright unmissable."--SFX on The Company