The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Puppet, David Almond

Puppet

David Almond

Writing in the tradition of Pinocchio, Hans Christian Anderson Award winner David Almond brings his ineffable touch to a warm and wistful story that shows anything is possible with imagination and trust.

"You're a mystery, aren't you, Puppet? But isn't everything a mystery? Not just you, but every single thing that exists."

What should a puppet master do when he's old and alone and all his puppets are gone? Silvester decides to make one last puppet. But this one is different. When the old man speaks to him, Puppet speaks back. And then he starts to walk . . . While Silvester shows Puppet the town, the playground, and other wonders the world holds, Puppet in turn helps Silvester to make a new friend and share his puppet-making skills with the next generation. With themes of compassion and creativity, threaded with David Almond's inimitable humor, this wonder-filled story of creation and the circle of life, illustrated with wordless black-and-white spreads by award-winning artist Lizzy Stewart, is destined to become a modern-day classic.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)
  • Publish Date: Sep 3rd, 2024
  • Pages: 240
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.81in - 5.06in - 0.00in - 1.25lb
  • EAN: 9781536239171
  • Categories: Fantasy & MagicImagination & PlayToys, Dolls & Puppets

About the Author

David Almond is the highly acclaimed author of many award-winning novels for children, such as The Boy Who Swam with Piranhas, illustrated by Oliver Jeffers; The Tale of Angelino Brown, illustrated by Alex R. Smith; Skellig; Clay; Kit's Wilderness; War Is Over, illustrated by David Litchfield; The Color of the Sun; and Brand New Boy, illustrated by Marta Altés. His numerous awards include the Carnegie Medal and the Hans Christian Andersen Award, the highest international prize for children's authors. David Almond lives in England.

Lizzy Stewart has written and illustrated picture books for children, including There's a Tiger in the Garden, which won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and World Illustration Award. She has also written and illustrated books for adults, including the graphic novel Alison. Lizzy Stewart lives and works in London.

Praise for this book