The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Scamp, Anden Wilder

Scamp

Anden Wilder

This playful story about a little girl and her best cat friend is a unique exploration of the changes children go through as they grow from toddler to big kid--for fans of Truman and Big Cat, Little Cat.

Scamp believes there are two cats in her house--one pink (Scamp herself) and one black (Hector)--until her growing body begins behaving in not-so-catlike ways. She suddenly finds herself standing on two feet...eating with a spoon...even enjoying the bath. What is happening to her? But when Hector needs help, Scamp must choose between acting like a cat and taking a big-girl stand to rescue her friend.

This sweet and poignant picture book, with inviting watercolor art by a debut talent, perfectly captures the moment when a little girl realizes she is becoming a big girl, and the universal bittersweet beauty of change.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: Feb 4th, 2025
  • Pages: 40
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 10.25in - 10.25in - 0.38in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780316558266
  • Recommended age: 04-08
  • Categories: Animals - CatsSocial Themes - New ExperienceAnimals - Pets

About the Author

Anden Wilder was raised with three cats and many, many books. Her work is inspired by her childhood and how the universality in our own stories can make us feel closer to one another. Scamp is her picture book debut. Anden lives and works in Denver, Colorado, with her husband, two children, one dog, four chickens, and two orange cats. She is still a cat person, and she invites you to visit her online at andenwilder.com or on Instagram @andenwilderillustration.