The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Sister Friend: A Picture Book, Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow

Sister Friend: A Picture Book

Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow

Perfect for fans of The Day You Begin and Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away, author Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow and illustrator Shahrzad Maydani's Sister Friend is a heartwarming new picture book celebrating the unique joy of cultivating friendships within your cultural community.

Ameena feels invisible. It's been that way since she started at her new school. But now there is another new girl in class. Ameena sees her brownness and her hijab, even though the other kids do not.

Ameena wants to be her friend, but she can't seem to find the right words or do the right things. Until one day, they find them together: "Assalamu Alaikum, Sister. Welcome."

Book Details

  • Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: May 7th, 2024
  • Pages: 40
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 10.70in - 8.60in - 0.40in - 0.92lb
  • EAN: 9781419767210
  • Recommended age: 04-08
  • Categories: Social Themes - FriendshipReligious - MuslimAfrican American & Black

About the Author

Thompkins-Bigelow, Jamilah: - Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow, M.S.Ed, is a Philadelphia-based educator and children's book author. A curriculum writer and former English teacher, she has educated children and teens in traditional and alternative learning settings for 15 years. As an inaugural AMAL fellow with the Muslim Anti-Racism Collaborative (MuslimARC), she developed foundational curricular frameworks for youth and adult anti-racist programming. Her picture books and short stories, which feature young Black and Muslim protagonists, have been recognized as the best in children's literature by TIME magazine, Read Across America, and NPR. These works include Mommy's Khimar, Once Upon an Eid (anthology contributor), Grounded (coauthor), Your Name Is a Song, Abdul's Story, and Hold Them Close.
Maydani, Shahrzad: - Shahrzad Maydani is an illustrator of Iranian-English descent, raised in Niger and Kenya. Her debut children's book, Poetree, received the Crystal Kite Award and was a Spring 2019 Kids' Indie Next selection. She lives with her family in California.

Praise for this book

***STARRED REVIEW***
"Thompkins-Bigelow's words resonate deeply and convey feelings of isolation, exclusion, and joyful acceptance. A powerful exploration of what it means to be welcomed, seen, and accepted."--Kirkus
"[G]racefully acknowledging the complexity of communications and relationships, while the illustrations capture every nuance of the characters' emotions in this moving picture book."--Booklist
***STARRED REVIEW***
"Thompkins-Bigelow's sweetly complex treatise speaks to experiences of loneliness and marginalization as well as of kinship and joy."--Publishers Weekly