The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Spitting Gold, Carmella Lowkis

Spitting Gold

Carmella Lowkis

A deliciously haunting, "lush, and twist-filled tale" (CrimeReads) that blends gothic mystery with a captivating sapphic romance as two estranged sisters--celebrated (and fraudulent) spirit mediums--come back together for one last con in 19th-century Paris.

Paris, 1866: When Baroness Sylvie Devereux receives a house call from Charlotte Mothe, the sister she disowned, she fears her shady past as a spirit medium has caught up with her. But with their father ill and Charlotte unable to pay his bills, Sylvie is persuaded into one last con.

Their marks are the de Jacquinots: dysfunctional aristocrats who believe they are haunted by their great aunt, brutally murdered during the French Revolution.

The scheme underway, the sisters deploy every trick to terrify the family out of their gold. But when inexplicable horrors start to happen to them, too, the duo question whether they really are at the mercy of a vengeful spirit. And what other deep, dark secrets may come to light?

Perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Sarah Penner, Spitting Gold is "an auspicious first outing from a writer to watch" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Book Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: Apr 22nd, 2025
  • Pages: 304
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.25in - 5.31in - 0.72in - 0.48lb
  • EAN: 9781668024966
  • Categories: Occult & SupernaturalLGBTQ+ - LesbianHistorical - General

About the Author

Lowkis, Carmella: - Carmella Lowkis grew up in Wiltshire, UK, and has a degree in English literature and creative writing from the University of Warwick, where she was mentored by Sunday Times (London) bestselling author Sarah Moss. After graduating, she worked in libraries before moving into book marketing. Carmella lives in London with her girlfriend. You can follow her on X and Instagram @CarmellaLowkis. Spitting Gold is her first novel.