The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: String Quartet No.5 - For Two Violins, Viola and Violoncello in B Flat Major - Op.104, Charles Villiers Stanford

String Quartet No.5 - For Two Violins, Viola and Violoncello in B Flat Major - Op.104

Charles Villiers Stanford

Charles V. Stanford's "String Quartet No.5, Op.104" is a musical composition for violins, viola, and cello in four movements, first composed in 1907 and published the following year by Stainer & Bell, London. Presented clearly with ample room for notes and annotations, this volume is ideal for students and is not to be missed by those with an interest in learning to play Stanford's masterpieces. Sir Charles Villiers Stanford (1852 - 1924) was an Irish composer, conductor, and teacher of music. He was educated at the University of Cambridge and continued his studies in Berlin and Leipzig. He was a very influential composer, responsible for making Cambridge University Musical Society an internationally-acclaimed organisation. Stanford was also a profuse composer, producing a large corpus of work in many genres; however, he is perhaps best remembered for his Anglican choral works for church performance. His music eventually became overshadowed by that of Edward Elgar and a number of his former pupils in the in the 20th century. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in a modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new introduction on the history of musical notation

Book Details

  • Publisher: Classic Music Collection
  • Publish Date: Dec 14th, 2018
  • Pages: 72
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 11.02in - 8.50in - 0.15in - 0.42lb
  • EAN: 9781528707459
  • Categories: Printed Music - Opera & Classical ScoresGeneralIndividual Composer & Musician
Praise for this book