The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Tchaikovsky's Ballets: Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, Nutcracker, Roland John Wiley

Tchaikovsky's Ballets: Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, Nutcracker

Roland John Wiley

Tchaikovsky's Ballets combines a detailed and thorough analysis of the music of Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, and Nutcracker with descriptions of the first productions of these works in Imperial Russia. A background chapter on the ballet audience, the collaboration of composer and balletmaster, and Moscow of the 1860's leads into an account of the first production of Swan Lake in 1877. A discussion of theater reforms initiated by the Director of the Imperial Theaters prepares the reader for a study of the still-famous 1890 St. Petersburg production of Sleeping Beauty. Wiley then explains how the Nutcracker, produced just two years after Sleeping Beauty, was seen in a much less favorable light than it is now. Separate chapters are devoted to the music of each ballet and translations of published libretti, choreographer's instructions to the composer, and the balletmaster's plans for Sleeping Beauty and the Nutcracker are reproduced in appendices

Book Details

  • Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
  • Publish Date: Mar 7th, 1985
  • Pages: 444
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780193153141
  • Categories: Instruction & Study - VoiceLinguistics - GeneralMedieval