The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Technically Yours, Denise Williams

Technically Yours

Denise Williams

"You'll laugh, you'll swoon, and you'll root for Pearl and Cord's happy ending."--New York Times bestselling author Carley Fortune

LibraryReads Pick

Eight years ago, he fell in love with a stranger he couldn't have--today, she's back in his life and the sparks between them threaten to set her career on fire.

Pearl Harris has learned the hard way to be careful in work and in love. She has the chance to make lasting change at OurCode--a nonprofit aimed at inspiring high schoolers to code--but a recent scandal puts its reputation at risk. Further complicating things, Pearl didn't expect the one man she never stopped thinking about to join as the newest member of her board of directors.

Cord Matthews fell for Pearl when they met in an elevator eight years ago. She's just his type: smart, capable, and makes him laugh, but when she broke his heart, he decided love wasn't for him. When they reconnect after years with no contact, Cord is tempted to consider breaking his ban on serious relationships. But going public with a romance between them might derail Pearl's career and the progress she's made at OurCode.

While Pearl and Cord are both hesitant to trust their feelings and take a risk, it soon becomes impossible to keep ignoring the electricity between them. Cord is a skilled programmer, but a workplace romance might spell disaster for both of them--and love isn't easily debugged.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Center Point
  • Publish Date: Apr 1st, 2024
  • Pages: 500
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9798891640825
  • Categories: Romance - Multicultural & InterracialWomen

About the Author

Denise Williams wrote her first book in the second grade. I Hate You and its sequel, I Still Hate You, featured a tough, funny heroine; a quirky hero; witty banter; and a dragon. Minus the dragons, these are still the books she likes to write. After penning those early works, she finished second grade and eventually earned a PhD in education, going on to work in higher education. After growing up a military brat around the world and across the country, Denise now lives in Des Moines, Iowa, with her husband, son, and two ornery shih-tzus who think they own the house.
Praise for this book
"A STEM-focused romance that is as sexy as it is cozy...Williams is a master at crafting relatable characters whose past traumas obstruct their road to happiness, and Technically Yours is no different. She writes with the precision and charm of a classic rom-com, innately knowing the code to what makes an irresistible read."--Entertainment Weekly

"If, like me, you love second chances, banter that snaps, and steam that fogs up your windows, do yourself a favor and put Technically Yours on your TBR. You'll laugh, you'll swoon, and you'll root for Pearl and Cord's happy ending."--New York Times bestselling author Carley Fortune

"Technically Yours is technically flawless: a second chance romance, a workplace affair, and a love story that will keep you flipping pages until the very end. This book was such a joy to read!"--Nisha Sharma, author of Dating Dr. Dil

"In Williams's scorching Technically Yours, two old flames re-ignite a passion that defies algorithms. Cord's magnetic charisma, Pearl's breathless yearning....these two are a force to be reckoned with in both the boardroom and the bedroom! This irresistible second chance romance rewites the code on RomComs!"--Nikki Payne, author of Pride and Protest

"Williams uploads her best yet contemporary romance, full of complex characters, the highs and lows of being a Black woman in STEM, and plenty of steam. Recommend to readers who enjoyed Jasmine Guillory and Chloe Liese."--Library Journal (starred review)

"Technically Yours is a clever tech-set romance that offers insights into some of the challenges of being a woman, particularly a woman of color, in this industry."--The Book Reporter

"Realistic conflict along with searing emotion and flashbacks to Pearl and Cord's first go-round make for a uniquely terrific romance."--Booklist

"Cord is the kind of caring and supportive hero romance readers will adore."--Publishers Weekly

"If, hypothetically, Denise Williams decided to establish an academy (let's call it The University of DW) and offered courses on how to write pent-up sexual tension, steamy banter, and enemies to lovers, I would burst into the classroom and yell "TAKE MY MONEY!!" The writing is unmatched, the chemistry is on fire, and Do You Take This Man has one of the steamiest, most addictive, most satisfyingly hard-earned happily-ever-after I've read in ages!"--Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis

"Denise Williams has mastered the art of writing fun, sexy banter. Smart and witty, with the perfect amount of steam, Do You Take This Man is a gift to romance readers."--Farrah Rochon, USA Today bestselling author of The Dating Playbook

"Once again, Denise Williams masterfully blends humor and heart with the perfect amount of steam. Do You Take This Man is full of authentic characters with relatable issues, hilarious wedding hijinks, and swoony sexy times. Lear earns a place on my list of favorite heroes, and Williams cements her spot on my list of favorite writers."--Falon Ballard, author of Lease on Love

"This annoyance-to-lovers story is steamy like the most luxurious bubble bath! Readers are in for a beautiful ride watching the deliciously prickly RJ learn to let someone care for her body and soul. Denise Williams consistently crafts romances that are so sweetly real. Her voice shines--full-hearted and playful--through every scene."--Rosie Danan, author of The Roommate

"Denise Williams delivers again with twice the banter, twice the heat, and the best enemies to lovers tension. A stellar romance!"--Jane Igharo, author of The Sweetest Remedy

"Warm, fuzzy, and ridiculously cute, The Fastest Way to Fall is the perfect feel-good read. Britta is an absolute breath of fresh air, and Wes is everything I love in a romantic lead. It's been weeks since I read this book, and I still smile every time I think about it. If you're looking for a novel that feels like a hug, this is it!"--Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Happy Place

"Williams brings the banter, heat, and swoons, while also giving us a character who learns that standing up for herself is as important--and terrifying--as allowing herself to fall in love. "--Jen DeLuca, author of Well Traveled

"The warmth in Denise Williams's writing is unmistakable, as is her wit. She tackles difficult subjects, difficult emotions, with such empathy and thoughtfulness."--Olivia Dade, Author of Teach Me