The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford, Jean Stafford

The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford

Jean Stafford

These Pulitzer Prize-winning stories represent the major short works of fiction by one of the most distinctively American stylists of her day. Jean Stafford communicates the small details of loneliness and connection, the search for freedom and the desire to belong, that not only illuminate whole lives but also convey with an elegant economy of words the sense of the place and time in which her protagonists find themselves. The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford includes the acclaimed story "An Influx of Poets," which has never before appeared in book form.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Publish Date: Sep 1st, 2005
  • Pages: 512
  • Language: English
  • Edition: Revised -
  • Dimensions: 8.58in - 6.26in - 1.33in - 1.03lb
  • EAN: 9780374529932
  • Categories: Short Stories (single author)LiteraryWorld Literature - American - 20th Century

About the Author

Stafford, Jean: - Jean Stafford (1915-79) was the author of three novels, Boston Adventure, The Mountain Lion, The Catherine Wheel, as well as several children's and nonfiction books. She was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1970.
Oates, Joyce Carol: - Joyce Carol Oates has published more than 40 novels and is the recipient of several awards, including the National Book Award, the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction, and the Normal Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement. Her bestselling novels include them, We Were the Mulvaneys, and Blonde.

Praise for this book

"The appearance of these stories in one volume is an event in our literature. To have built up so distinguished a collection, each story excellent in its own way and each an original departure in relation to the others, is a triumph. " --Guy Davenport, New York Times Book Review