The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Game Changer, Embassie Susberry

The Game Changer

Embassie Susberry

Sometimes making history means breaking some rules...

This is a gripping historical fiction novel about bravery, hard work, the quest for success and two women's stand against prejudice in all its forms, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, Sadeqa Johnson and Dolen Perkins-Valdez.

New York, 1950. Ambitious journalist Hettie Carlin is reeling from a scandal and desperate for a scoop to salvage her career. When her boss tasks her with covering the meteoric rise of Althea Gibson, the tennis world's newest star, there's just two problems: Hettie knows nothing about tennis. Plus, her and Althea have a history - and it's not pretty.

Hettie must convince a media-sceptic Althea Gibson to allow Hettie back into her life, and it won't be an easy feat. But, as Althea's star rises and she challenges the status quo, she faces media bias, tennis establishment prejudice, and discrimination head-on - and Althea soon realises she may just need Hettie, too, in order to tell her own story on her own terms.

When Althea becomes an unexpected civil rights icon, the pair realise their partnership transcends tennis, holding the potential to change history. If they can work together, they may just help revolutionize more than just the sport once and for all...

Don't miss the powerful new historical fiction novel Inspired by the incredible true story of Althea Gibson, the first Black athlete to win a Grand Slam title in 1956.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Avon Books
  • Publish Date: Mar 4th, 2025
  • Pages: 384
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.81in - 5.06in - 0.94in - 0.59lb
  • EAN: 9780008697594
  • Categories: Historical - 20th Century - Post-World War IIWar & MilitaryAfrican American & Black - Historical

About the Author

Susberry, Embassie: -

Embassie Susberry is a practicing attorney in Chicago, but when she's not doing her day job, she's reading or writing what she wants to read.
Code Name Butterfly is Embassie's first traditionally published novel. She has over 2000 reviews for her self-published novels on Amazon with average ratings of 4.7 stars.

Praise for this book

Readers love Embassie Susberry:

'Everything I have read of Embassie's writing has touched my heart! Her historical writing kept me turning the pages!'

'I know I say this every time I finish a Susberry book but I mean it every time. The romance, the action, and suspense was intense. Can't wait for the next one.'

'Embassie Susberry writes the best stories. The book was so good. Of course, I couldn't put it down. I loved the characters, the romance, the action, and the mystery.'

'I am a huge fan of Embassie. I am working my way through all of her books!'

'I truly enjoyed this book. Ms. Susberry is an amazing author and I am so glad I found her...'

'This is one to savour reading!'

Reading Lists –