The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Gilded Chair A Novel, Melville Davisson Post

The Gilded Chair A Novel

Melville Davisson Post

"The Gilded Chair: A Novel" by using Melville Davisson. Post is a gripping story set within the past due 19th century, with the American South as its backdrop. The plot revolves round Colonel Henry Daren, a rich plantation proprietor mentioned for his air of mystery and social strength. When Colonel Daren buys a mysterious vintage chair with exceptional gold carvings, he accidentally sets off a sequence of events a good way to exchange the route of his lifestyles and the lives of those round him. As tales spread about the chair's alleged curse, Colonel Daren turns into stuck in an internet of deception, betrayal, and murder. As the story progresses, secrets and techniques emerge, alliances are strained, and the total nature of the gilded chair's strength turns into clean. Post spins a tale of suspense and intrigue, transporting readers to a world in which money and electricity collide with shadowy forces hiding under the floor. "The Gilded Chair" is a compelling thriller that delves into subject matters of greed, ambition, and the outcomes of unrestrained choice. With its vividly painted characters and fascinating surroundings, Post tells a riveting story so as to hold readers thinking until the very give up.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Double 9 Books
  • Publish Date: Feb 1st, 2024
  • Pages: 164
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.50in - 5.50in - 0.38in - 0.47lb
  • EAN: 9789361423802
  • Categories: Mystery & Detective - General

About the Author

Post, Melville Davisson: - Melville Davisson Post is an American writer who was born in Harrison County, West Virginia. Although his name may be unfamiliar to those outside of professional circles, several of his collections are still in print, and his contributions appear in many detective fiction anthologies. Uncle Abner, Post's most renowned character, is a West Virginia backwoodsman who solves mysteries and upholds justice. The 22 Uncle Abner stories, written between 1911 and 1928, have been termed "the finest mysteries ever written". Other regular characters include attorneys Randolph Mason and Colonel Braxton, as well as detectives Sir Henry Marquis and Monsieur Jonquelle. His usual output amounted to approximately 230 volumes, including some non-crime novels. Post was born on April 19, 1869 in Harrison County, West Virginia, as the son of rich farmer Ira Carper Post and Florence May (née Davisson). Post's ancestors arrived in the Clarksburg, West Virginia area in the late 18th century. Post earned his law degree from West Virginia University in 1892 and was elected to the Electoral College as the youngest member. He practiced law for a corporation in Wheeling, West Virginia, but became disillusioned in politics and instead focused on literature.