The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Hollow and the Haunted, Camilla Raines

The Hollow and the Haunted

Camilla Raines

In this darkly magical, romantic fantasy debut set in Washington State, a closeted teenage psychic foresees the death of his sworn enemy, and is forced to work with him to save his life. Sparks fly, but some ghosts don't want to stay buried...

Perfect for fans of The Raven Cycle, Cemetery Boys and Sixteen Souls.

Miles Warren hails from a long line of psychics. Resigned to a life in the family business, Miles is perfectly happy, thank you very much--except that he's constantly consumed by anxiety, hides his sexuality from almost everyone, and always feels exhausted from long nights spent wrangling angry ghosts. Perfectly happy.

Miles' comfortable routine is interrupted when he starts to see the reflection of a strange boy in his mirror. He discovers the boy is none other than Gabriel Hawthorne, whose family have a mysterious, decades-long feud with Miles' own--and that the visions are a premonition of his death. Gabriel is everything Miles expects from a Hawthorne--rude, snobbish, and irritatingly good-looking--but Miles isn't just going to stand by and let someone murder him. (Even if he understands the impulse).

The two form an uneasy alliance, trying to work out who might want to kill Gabriel and prevent his death from taking place. As they uncover secrets about their families' feud and dark magic swirls around them, Miles is horrified to realize that he doesn't hate Gabriel as much as he's supposed to. He might even like him.

Too bad Gabriel is almost certainly going to die.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Titan Books (UK)
  • Publish Date: Oct 22nd, 2024
  • Pages: 384
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.81lb
  • EAN: 9781803369976
  • Categories: Fantasy - ContemporaryFantasy - RomanceLGBTQ+ - Gay

About the Author

Camilla Raines is the author of several published short stories and was born and raised in a small town in Northern Washington with lots of Evergreen trees, fog, and rain. Her writing career began in elementary school, where she spent years writing fantasy stories for friends that were usually just knock-offs of whatever book she was devouring at the time. As a proud member of the LGBTQIA+ community and someone who openly struggles with chronic anxiety, representation, diversity, identity, and acceptance are all important to her as a writer. Camilla can be found @camillaraines
Praise for this book