The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Loose Thread, Liz Harris

The Loose Thread

Liz Harris

Early in 1938, with the threat of WW2 little more than a shadow on the horizon, Rose Hammond marries Tom Benest, whom she hardly knows, and leaves London to go to live with Tom on his family's farm in Jersey. There, she's welcomed by his parents as she attempts to adjust to her new life, but meets with open hostility from Tom's sister, Kathleen.

Less than two years later, the lives of the family are turned upside down when Jersey is cut loose from British protection. The Germans move in and seize control of the island, forcing the islanders into a perilous situation that will test their endurance and resourcefulness.

As the German Occupation tightens its grip on life on the island, Tom and Rose are torn apart in a situation of unimaginable heartbreak, which calls for the greatest of courage, and a powerful determination to survive.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Heywood Press
  • Publish Date: Feb 27th, 2024
  • Pages: 364
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.00in - 5.00in - 0.81in - 0.87lb
  • EAN: 9781913687410
  • Categories: General

About the Author

Harris, Liz: - "Liz Harris is the author of the historical novels THE ROAD BACK (US Coffee Time & Romance Book of the Year 2012) and A BARGAIN STRUCK (shortlisted for the RoNA Historical 2013). They and THE LOST GIRL/GOLDEN TIGER and A WESTERN HEART were shortlisted for Best Historical Romance by The Festival of Romance. In addition are contemporary novels, EVIE UNDERCOVER, THE ART OF DECEPTION, THE BEST FRIEND and WORD PERFECT. THE DARK HORIZON, THE FLAME WITHIN and THE LENGTHENING SHADOW, set between the wars, comprise The Linford Collection, which was followed by The Colonials - DARJEELING INHERITANCE, COCHIN FALL, HANOI SPRING and SIMLA MIST. The second edition of THE ROAD BACK appeared in August 2022, followed by IN A FAR PLACE. A second edition of A BARGAIN STRUCK and GOLDEN TIGER were published in 2023. THE LOOSE THREAD, the first in the trilogy Three Sisters, was published in spring 2024. The second, THE SILKEN KNOT, will be published in September 2024. Each novel in the series is a standalone novel. In addition to these, Liz has had short stories published in anthologies and magazines."