The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Teacher, Tim Sullivan

The Teacher

Tim Sullivan

'Every generation has its iconic detective - Holmes, Poirot and Morse - but Cross is emerging as the one for now. Treasure him.' DAILY MAIL
'DS George Cross shot to the top of my favourites when I first encountered him. The Teacher shows him at his best.' MARI HANNAH
'George Cross is becoming one of my favourite detectives.' ELLY GRIFFITHS

He's a victim. But is he innocent?

THE BODY
In a village in South West England, an elderly man is found dead in his home. The angle of his neck says he fell down the stairs. The stab wound on his body tells a different story.

THE EVIDENCE
In the weeks before his murder, Alistair Moreton changed. He usually kept himself to himself, but people swear there was someone in the house when they checked on him, that there was a reason he wouldn't let them inside.

THE PUNISHMENT
Moreton made people's lives a misery, from his neighbours to his ex-pupils. While DS George Cross's list of suspects is long, every victim deserves justice.

But in all of Alistair's years, there was something important he never learned:

If you go through life making enemies, don't be surprised when they teach you a lesson.

Perfect for fans of MW Craven, Peter James and Joy Ellis, The Teacher is part of the DS George Cross thriller series, which can be read in any order.

'Starts with a bang and then continues to deliver all the way to the thrilling end.' IMRAN MAHMOOD
'George Cross is in a class of his own.' SIMON TOYNE
'A must-read series.' THE TIMES

Book Details

  • Publisher: Head of Zeus -- An Aries Book
  • Publish Date: Oct 8th, 2024
  • Pages: 384
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 7.79in - 5.08in - 1.00in - 1.00lb
  • EAN: 9781804545676
  • Categories: CrimeMystery & Detective - Police ProceduralThrillers - Crime

About the Author

Sullivan, Tim: - Tim Sullivan is a crime writer, screenwriter and director who has worked on major feature films such as the fourth Shrek, Flushed Away, Letters to Juliet, A Handful of Dust, Jack and Sarah, and the TV series Cold Feet. His crime series featuring DS George Cross has topped the book charts and been widely acclaimed. Tim lives in North London with his wife Rachel, the Emmy Award-winning producer of The Barefoot Contessa and Pioneer Woman. To find out more about the author, please visit TimSullivan.co.uk.

Praise for this book

"Tim Sullivan's wonderfully realised, captivating character, DS George Cross, shot to the top of my favourites when I first encountered him. The Teacher shows him at his best." --Mari Hannah, author of Without a Trace and the DCI Kate Daniels series

"Starts with a bang and then continues to deliver all the way to the thrilling end... A great addition to what is becoming a classic series." --Imran Mahmood, author of You Don't Know Me

"In The Teacher George Cross is in a class of his own. He says all the things you think but never dare speak and suffers fools not at all. We should all be more like George." --Simon Toyne, Sunday Times bestselling author

"A must-read series." --The Times

"George Cross is a superb creation. Naturally a horribly efficient detective, his emotional vulnerability is beautifully crafted by Tim Sullivan. The latest sharply honed mystery, The Teacher, also offers an insightful examination of whether guilt for past deeds has a half-life." --Dom Nolan, author of Vine Street

"George Cross is an unforgettable character and a brilliant detective...Every generation has its iconic detective - Holmes, Poirot and Morse - but Cross is emerging as the one for now. Treasure him." --Daily Mail

"Classic detection brought up to date and a series growing in stature by the book." --Crime Time

"An excellent series centred on the autistic Detective Sergeant George Cross... the plot brilliantly links successive investigations of the suspects in order to move forward a well-constructed story as well as throwing light on autism, tensions within the police, cruelty, sexual harassment, and drug-dealing. A very fine story." --The Critic

"It's always cause for celebration when a new George Cross novel is published... [he] is an absolute delight." --Bishop Stortford Independent

"DS George Cross is as beguiling a figure as ever in a cannily plotted narrative." --Financial Times

"Tim Sullivan just gets better and better. The Teacher is a thrilling, nuanced and compassionate crime novel. George Cross is rapidly become one of my favourite detectives." --Elly Griffiths

"George Cross is a highly readable creation whose adherence to the rules throws a bright light on the often murky world of policing." --Sarah Hilary