The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood: A Brilliantly Chilling and Thrilling Mystery Debut Novel, Lisa Rookes

The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood: A Brilliantly Chilling and Thrilling Mystery Debut Novel

Lisa Rookes

'An absolute page-turner, I'm actually on pins waiting for the story to unfold and my anxiety is through the roof. And whata jaw-swinging, heart-palpitating ending this book has, too!... An easy 5 star for me.' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The debris from the party the night before is scattered underneath the village tree and across the cobbles. Red wine stains the ground like blood. And Joni has vanished.

Everyone in the village loves Joni Blackwood. She is beautiful and bold, and it's no surprise to anyone when on the annual village bonfire, she is crowned 'queen' of the festivities. After all, despite fierce competition from the charity-giving and churchgoing mothers in the village, she has won this honour five years in a row.

But this year, the morning after the party is not like the mornings before. This year, Joni is missing, the shower left running in her cottage.

When the next day, human remains are found in the church graveyard, everyone is quick to assume that the mystery of Joni's whereabouts has had a swift and deadly answer. But when it's revealed that the remains are the small bones of a baby, it's clear that Joni's disappearance only marks the start of dark truths in the village coming to light.

If the remains aren't Joni's, did she vanish because she put them there? Or because she knows who did?

The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood is an utterly compelling mystery with a twist you won't see coming. Perfect for fans of C J Tudor, Caroline Mitchell and Erin Kelly.

Read what everyone is saying about The Vanishing of Joni Blackwood:

'I absolutelyyyyyyy loved the atmospheric setting of the small village... And that final reveal? Wow! I didn't see it coming at all.... You'll love this one. It's a real page-turner, and I can't wait to read more from Lisa Rookes' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Lisa Rookes has written a gem of a book. It's small town claustrophobia that bites in all the right places. A surefire five star read.' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I meannnnn I am currently jaw to the floor. I was not expecting that very end twist!!! This was such a wild ride and I honestly don't feel a review can do the twists and turns justice, you just need to go and read it... Small town... drama... it's got it all.' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A crime fiction trope that I really, really love is a small town mystery... I was really shocked that this was a debut novel, it's got a very distinctive voice and the mystery is complex and develops in a really unexpected way. A brilliant set of characters, and the Northern setting of a small village near Sheffield was perfect for this storyline full of secrets and suspense.' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A page-turner from the first chapter... The author did a wonderful job describing relationships and their dynamics... Creepy, twisty... There are a lot of times that make you wonder if your predictions of what is going to happen next or who may not be the best person(s) are true... Cannot wait to read more from this author.' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I was hooked... It had everything that I was hoping for in the mystery element. It was a unique world... Lisa Rookes has a great writing style and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this.' Reader Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Book Details

  • Publisher: Orion
  • Publish Date: Jan 7th, 2025
  • Pages: 320
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9781398716490
  • Categories: Thrillers - CrimeMystery & Detective - Women SleuthsHorror - General

About the Author

Lisa is an award-winning journalist and lecturer. She spent the start of her career as a crime reporter and news editor before moving to national newspapers and women's magazines. She is currently head of the undergraduate Journalism programme at the University of Sheffield and has won further multiple awards for her teaching. Her debut gothic thriller The Gallows Tree is published 2024. She lives in Holmfirth in South Yorkshire with her husband, two sons, an arthritic Labrador and a disabled pug.

Praise for this book

Creepy, dark, and twisted!--Sharon Bolton, author of The Craftsman
This one is for all the gothic thriller fans... A gripping, pacy read with bold characters, gasp-out-loud twists, and an ending you'll never see coming.--Carly Reagon, author of The Toll House