The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Wilde Trials, MacKenzie Reed

The Wilde Trials

MacKenzie Reed

From the acclaimed author of The Rosewood Hunt comes a thrilling new mystery about a high-stakes competition packed with shocking twists, second chances, and deadly deceit, where allies--and enemies--are the people you'd least expect.

Chloe Gatti will do whatever it takes to win her elite boarding school's annual competition, the Wilde Trials. In the two weeks leading up to graduation from Wilde Academy, a dozen seniors are chosen to compete in a series of seven ultimate physical and mental tests, and the winner will take home over half a million dollars--money that Chloe needs to help her sick sister.

But the competition is fierce and includes her brooding ex-boyfriend, Hayes Stratford, whose brother was the only student to die during the trials a few years ago. When someone starts blackmailing Chloe during the competition, she's forced to strike a deal with Hayes--if he helps her discover who is sabotaging her, she'll help him solve the mystery his brother left behind.

Following clues from Hayes's brother, the unlikely allies discover that something isn't right about the Wilde Trials. With a life-changing prize looming over her head and her buried feelings for Hayes rising to the surface, Chloe will have to decide what's really worth fighting for, and if the cost of competing outweighs the potential consequences, even if that includes ending up like Hayes's brother--dead.

Fans of Jessica Goodman and Maureen Johnson will love this dark academia thriller with a romantic twist!

Book Details

  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: Jan 21st, 2025
  • Pages: 320
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780063287648
  • Recommended age: 13-UP
  • Categories: Thrillers & Suspense - GeneralSchool & Education - Boarding School & Prep SchoolAction & Adventure - General

About the Author

Reed, MacKenzie: -

Mackenzie Reed is the author of The Rosewood Hunt and The Wilde Trials. She cultivated her love of storytelling at Nazareth College, where she graduated with a BA in communication and media and shifted her focus from songwriting to novel writing. A native and resident of Rochester, New York, she loves going for brainstorming walks when the weather's behaving and spending time with her family. In the sparse moments she's not writing or daydreaming about her next book, she's usually winging her eyeliner and hunting for the best slice of pizza in town. mackenziemreed.com

Praise for this book

"A captivating mystery full of secrets, family betrayals, and intrigue wrapped inside a fabulous treasure hunt that will leave readers spellbound. Reed seamlessly weaves classic mystery elements with a truly touching story of family and greed." -- Kathleen Glasgow, author of the New York Times bestsellers Girl in Pieces and The Agathas

"Readers be warned: once you pick up Mackenzie Reed's debut, you won't want to put it down. The Rosewood Hunt is a fun, twisty, fast-paced mystery with just the right amount of angsty drama, perfect for fans of The Inheritance Games and Goonies." -- Liz Lawson, New York Times bestselling author of The Agathas, The Night in Question, and The Lucky Ones

"Such a fun adventure! Mackenzie Reed has crafted a fast-paced, exciting mix of treasure hunt, romance, and family secrets that fans of The Inheritance Games will surely gobble up."
-- Diana Urban, author of Lying in the Deep

"A high-stakes exploration of grief, greed, and what it means to choose your own family, The Rosewood Hunt is a perfectly twisty mystery filled with complex characters and reveals that will leave your heart racing. A must-read for any National Treasure or The Goonies fan!"
-- Victoria Wlosok, author of How to Find a Missing Girl

"The Rosewood Hunt is a heart pounding thrill ride. With a breakneck pace, jaw-dropping betrayals, and dizzying twists, this high stakes treasure of a hunt kept me guessing to the final page." -- Dana Mele, author of People Like Us and Summer's Edge

"A vividly drawn, well-paced cat-and-mouse game with intense action sequences, whip-smart dialogue, and tender moments." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The meaningful friendships are endearing [and] the thrilling hunt for the fortune takes center stage. An exploration of chosen family packed with action and unexpected twists." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Reed's impressive debut reads as a fun, updated version of The Westing Game, full of family secrets, intrigue, betrayal, and a good helping of teen angst and romance. Full of excitement and danger. It's the motley crew's slowly building relationships that comprise the heart of the book."
-- Booklist

"This fast-paced mystery is a treasure hunt that includes family betrayals, greed, diversity, and a little romance. Will grab the attention of readers from the start."
-- School Library Journal

"With unlikely allies, complicated family issues, secrets, and humour, The Rosewood Hunt is a highly addictive read for anyone who loves a good mystery." -- The Nerd Daily