The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Witch of Colchis, Rosie Hewlett

The Witch of Colchis

Rosie Hewlett

For readers of Costanza Casati and Circe comes an evocative tale of love, murder, and magic following one of the most powerful and maligned women in Greek myth. Meet Medea like you've never known her before - a woman with improbable skill and the softest heart, held back by men who could never dream to deserve her.

A disgraced daughter. A fearsome witch.

A woman more myth than mortal.

Medea, princess of Colchis, longs for a different life. Since childhood, she has been shunned from her family, tormented by her people, and treated with shame. All because of a unique and dangerous talent: witchcraft.

But when a dashing young hero, Jason, arrives to claim the famed Golden Fleece, Medea sees her opportunity for escape. Her offer to help Jason sets in motion a journey that will test every ounce of strength, magic, and loyalty she has. A journey that will see her battle monsters, dethrone kings, and confront a love more brutal than any before.

A journey that will ultimately end in betrayal, bloodshed, and a dark power impossible to forget.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: Sep 10th, 2024
  • Pages: 464
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.25in - 5.50in - 1.12in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9781728299013
  • Categories: Historical - AncientFeministWomen
Praise for this book
"So delightfully devastating! A deeply humanising, visceral portrayal of one of myth's most controversial figures, Rosie Hewlett's The Witch of Colchis explores the polarizing possibilities of humanity, from our capacity for pain and heartbreak to our potential for vengeance and retribution." -- Bea Fitzgerald, author of Girl, Goddess, Queen
"An incredible tale of love and power as spellbinding and complex as Medea herself." -- Phoenicia Rogerson, the author of Herc
"A fiery and dramatic novel, starring one of mythology's most notorious women, this is a fascinating descent into darkness and a compelling portrayal of a toxic and tragic relationship. Rosie's Hewlett gives us flawed and intriguing characters who bring out the very worst in one another, spiralling inevitably towards a tragedy they can't seem to escape." -- Jennifer Saint, internationally bestselling author of Ariadne and Atalanta