The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Very: Bad at Math, Hope Larson

Very: Bad at Math

Hope Larson

Hijinks, unexpected friendships, and math take center stage in this contemporary middle grade graphic novel perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Kayla Miller from New York Times bestselling and Eisner Award-winning author Hope Larson.

Verity "Very" Nelson can do it all.

She's student body president, debate club whiz, and first chair clarinetist. You could say she's pretty much the best at everything...Well, almost everything. Everything except math.

And it's not like she doesn't try. Math just doesn't make sense in her brain. But it better start soon, or else she can kiss her presidency--and her campaign promises--goodbye. Soon Verity finds herself enrolled in a remedial math class where, despite her best efforts, failure persists. All seems lost until a teacher helps her discover the truth: Verity has dyscalculia, a learning disability that causes her to mix up numbers.

Armed with a new perspective, can Verity pass math, keep her presidency, and make good on her word to the student body she loves so much? Or will her presidency--and perfect reputation--all come crashing down?

Book Details

  • Publisher: Harperalley
  • Publish Date: Jan 21st, 2025
  • Pages: 240
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9780063311282
  • Recommended age: 08-12
  • Categories: Comics & Graphic Novels - GeneralSocial Themes - FriendshipSocial Themes - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

About the Author

Larson, Hope: -

Hope Larson is a New York Times bestselling, multi-Eisner Award--winning cartoonist and comics writer. Over a lengthy career as a middle grade author, she has created contemporary middle grade graphic novels like All Summer Long, dabbled in fantasy with Salt Magic (illustrated by Rebecca Mock), adapted Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time into a graphic novel, written Batgirl for DC Comics, and cocreated the Goldie Vance series for Boom! Comics. She lives in Asheville, North Carolina, with her family and an orange tabby, Popcorn.

Reading Lists – Children's Books