The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: Waiting in the Bar: Mekons Scrapbook 1977-81, The Mekons

Waiting in the Bar: Mekons Scrapbook 1977-81

The Mekons

Book Details

  • Publisher: Verse Chorus Press
  • Publish Date: Aug 20th, 2024
  • Pages: 180
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00in - 0.00lb
  • EAN: 9781959163008
  • Categories: Genres & Styles - PunkMusic

About the Author

Mekons, The: - In their first incarnation from 1977 to 1981, art-punk band the Mekons were Roz Allen, Andy Corrigan, Tom Greenhalgh, Jon Langford, Kevin Lycett, and Mark White; Mary Janner replaced Roz Allen on bass when the latter left to form Delta 5. The band broke up in 1981 after releasing several singles, including the iconic "Never Been in a Riot" and "Where Were You," and one album, The Quality of Mercy Is Not Strnen. A new version of the Mekons emerged in 1984, with only Greenhalgh and Langford remaining from the original band, and continues to the present day. In 2017 the original lineup reformed briefly as The Mekons 77 and recorded the album It Is Twice Blessed.
Praise for this book