The co-op bookstore for avid readers
Book Cover for: The Giver: A Newbery Award Winner, Lois Lowry

The Giver: A Newbery Award Winner

Lois Lowry

Reader Score


77% of readers

recommend this book

2020 & 2021 & 2019 & 2017 & 2018 & 2022 The New York Times Best Seller

In Lois Lowry's Newbery Medal-winning classic, twelve-year-old Jonas lives in a seemingly ideal world. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver does he begin to understand the dark secrets behind his fragile community.

Life in the community where Jonas lives is idyllic. Designated birthmothers produce newchildren, who are assigned to appropriate family units. Citizens are assigned their partners and their jobs. No one thinks to ask questions. Everyone obeys. Everyone is the same. Except Jonas.

Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Gradually Jonas learns that power lies in feelings. But when his own power is put to the test--when he must try to save someone he loves--he may not be ready. Is it too soon? Or too late?

Told with deceptive simplicity, this is the provocative story of a boy who experiences something incredible and undertakes something impossible. In the telling it questions every value we have taken for granted and reexamines our most deeply held beliefs.

The Giver has become one of the most influential novels of our time. Don't miss the powerful companion novels in Lois Lowry's Giver Quartet: Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.

Book Details

  • Publisher: Clarion Books
  • Publish Date: Jul 1st, 2014
  • Pages: 240
  • Language: English
  • Dimensions: 8.20in - 5.40in - 0.70in - 0.46lb
  • EAN: 9780544336261
  • Recommended age: 12-UP
  • Categories: Fantasy - GeneralDystopianSocial Themes - Emotions & Feelings

About the Author

Lowry, Lois: -

Lois Lowry is the author of more than forty books for children and young adults, including the New York Times bestselling Giver Quartet and the popular Anastasia Krupnik series. She has received countless honors, among them the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, the California Young Reader Medal, and the Mark Twain Award. She received Newbery Medals for two of her novels, Number the Stars and The Giver.